Sijun Forums Forum Index
Log in to check your private messages
My Profile Search Who's Online Member List FAQ Register Login Sijun Forums Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
   Sijun Forums Forum Index >> Digital Art Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author   Topic : "Hi-Res renderings - how best to do it?"
Cuddly
member


Member #
Joined: 02 Jan 2001
Posts: 161
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2001 9:52 pm     Reply with quote
Hi all,

this question is in relation to stuff I've read which says that most of you guys (the pros among us anyway) work in very high resolutions. Spooge for instance, works in resolutions of 3000 x 5000 pixels for his commercial grade pieces.

My question is this: how is this done? I mean, even if you're working on a 21" monitor with the display resolution cranked up to the max, it must be incredibly difficult to work on such large pieces and maintain scale and perspective. So, again, how is this done?

Do you do "layouts" on a lower resolution piece and then size that up to the final resolution or do you crank down the magnification on a large piece and work that way? Any other challenges?

I'm just curious is all. Would be interesting to hear all your thoughts on this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
CapnPyro
member


Member #
Joined: 25 Mar 2000
Posts: 671
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2001 1:00 am     Reply with quote
i beleive the best way to do it is to work on a piece at a decent size (say 1000x1000) for a while, once you got something you want to work with crank the res up to however big you think would suit the detail
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
faustgfx
member


Member #
Joined: 15 Mar 2000
Posts: 4833
Location: unfortunately, very near you.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2001 1:30 am     Reply with quote
"zoom"



------------------
sky high with a heartache of stone you never see me 'cos i'm always alone/ministry
the law of lead now reigns!@#!/earth crisis

jussi.kuusi@mediaclick.fi
icq#35983387
http://faustgfx.0wns.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Cuddly
member


Member #
Joined: 02 Jan 2001
Posts: 161
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2001 2:41 am     Reply with quote
CapnPyro - yeah, that's what I thought too.

but

Faust - I take it y' mean start at 3000px by 5000px and then zoom out to do layout?

Any particular reason we should do one instead of the other (i.e. start big and zoom out instead of start small and resize to big)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nova
member


Member #
Joined: 23 Oct 1999
Posts: 751
Location: seattle, wa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2001 4:52 am     Reply with quote
it depends if you're going to print or not..

otherwise, starting at about 1000x1000 72 dpi is ok



------------------
*nova
!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sumaleth
Administrator


Member #
Joined: 30 Oct 1999
Posts: 2847
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2001 5:41 am     Reply with quote
My approach, not necessarily the best, is to have two windows open for the same image. One zoomed way in for drawing on, and the other at a much smaller size so that I can see what it looks like.

I usually like to work 4 times the size of the intended final image, just because an image zoomed 25% in PS looks almost identical to the same image scaled 25%.

I think this is why I tend to do little images though. I need them small enough that I can see most of them while still having all the PS panels onscreen, and also the editing window.

Row.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chapel
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Mar 2000
Posts: 1930
Location: Orlando, FL USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2001 7:48 am     Reply with quote
I use two views also. One at 50% and one at 100%.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shardik
member


Member #
Joined: 09 Apr 2000
Posts: 494
Location: Buffalo, NY

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 12:18 am     Reply with quote
wait u can have 2 open that update at the same time?


------------------
-matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
eetu
member


Member #
Joined: 27 May 2000
Posts: 289
Location: helsinki, finland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:19 am     Reply with quote
yea :) view -> new view

or you could open the navigator window and scale it up..

eetu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dakkan
member


Member #
Joined: 23 Jan 2000
Posts: 259
Location: London, England (Nationality: Belgian)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 8:02 am     Reply with quote
a second monitor would help on this one...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
S4Sb
member


Member #
Joined: 13 Jan 2001
Posts: 803
Location: near Hamburg (Germany) | Registered: Mar 2000

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 9:00 am     Reply with quote
If I have a second monitor. What do I need to let em work both? besides a special link cable

------------------
Formerly known as El Caseron.
And my name is nothing like Sp3zi4liz7 or SuP3r DrAwa *g* ... it has a special meaning ... to me. :)

ICQ:26482363
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
quaternius
member


Member #
Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 220
Location: Albany, CA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 10:41 am     Reply with quote
You don't always have to start small and go large. Sometimes I begin at the final image size of, say 5000pxl, but start with grads and fills, layering and masking, etc. to get the basics blocked in with fairly flat color and tone.

Yep, I too will start at a zoom of 25% or 33%. Gradually you just work smaller and smaller and zoom in closer and closer to those sections you want to finish in higher detail. Since your basic values and colors have already been blocked-in and are working well, (or should be before you get to the details), as long as you stay within those color and value "ranges" as you work into the details everything should (theoretically)still work out.

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Visigoth
Guest


Member #



PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 3:39 pm     Reply with quote
I do all my stuff @ 9x12" @ 300dpi, and 18x24" @ 300dpi -- The 18x24" @ 300dpi is 5400x7200 -- The files average 40 - 90 megs in size, and up to around 250 once they're complete. I zoom out to %12.5 and %25 to do all my construction lines and block in the figures/layout, and then zoom in to %100 and %200 to add detail.

------------------
Your car is a fiberglass penis extension.
Back to top
Ben Barker
member


Member #
Joined: 15 Sep 2000
Posts: 568
Location: Cincinnati, Ohier

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 6:11 pm     Reply with quote
S4Sb: All you need is two video cards. Multimonitor support is built into Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elam
member


Member #
Joined: 27 Sep 2000
Posts: 455
Location: Motown

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2001 9:12 pm     Reply with quote
"All you need is two video cards. Multimonitor support is built into Windows."

You also need a motherboard that will support two cards.


------------------
Elam
-------
"Beef jerky time!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
S4Sb
member


Member #
Joined: 13 Jan 2001
Posts: 803
Location: near Hamburg (Germany) | Registered: Mar 2000

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2001 4:31 am     Reply with quote
Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Freddio
Administrator


Member #
Joined: 29 Dec 1999
Posts: 2074
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2001 6:27 am     Reply with quote
?

how do you get two windows of the same pic which update at the same time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Cuddly
member


Member #
Joined: 02 Jan 2001
Posts: 161
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2001 7:22 am     Reply with quote
Wow, everyone - thanks for the input.

Freddio - to view 2 windows of the same pic that update in real time, go to View->New View. This refers to Photoshop. Dunno about other painting programs.

My problem is I'm working on a somewhat outdated PII 350, 224MB RAM, Riva TNT PCI video card and a 15" monitor at 1024x768px resolution. Looks like I need a hardware upgrade to work on large pieces....sigh.

[This message has been edited by Cuddly (edited January 23, 2001).]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sijun Forums Forum Index -> Digital Art Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2005 phpBB Group