Sijun Forums Forum Index
Log in to check your private messages
My Profile Search Who's Online Member List FAQ Register Login Sijun Forums Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
   Sijun Forums Forum Index >> Digital Art Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author   Topic : "Painter 6, would additional RAM help ?"
tripclaw
junior member


Member #
Joined: 10 Jan 2001
Posts: 38
Location: Miaim, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2001 11:29 am     Reply with quote
Hi. I'm really loving Painter 6, but it seems to lag behind a lot when i use larger brush sizes.. I have a pentium III 733 with 128mb so i was wondering what is it that is holding my computer behind ? would another 128mb stick be the answer, or CPU upgrade ? RAM is pretty cheap right now so i could afford that..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tripclaw
junior member


Member #
Joined: 10 Jan 2001
Posts: 38
Location: Miaim, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2001 8:04 pm     Reply with quote
by larger brushes i mean starting at 20, getting really bad at 30, and beyond that is unusable, too lagged with the waterbrush.

and i usually make my images 1000x1000..

so its probably not a RAM issue then? its only about $40 for an extra 128mb these day, but i dont want to do it if its un-needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ko
member


Member #
Joined: 17 Feb 2000
Posts: 457
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2001 11:42 pm     Reply with quote
Hmnn....
Doesn't sound like a memory problem!
People are getting very mixed performance from Painter, even on highend systems... it's very weird.
I'm beginning to suspect that the graphics card is a factor to be considered too!
What card are you using? PCI or AGP?

Ko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ko
member


Member #
Joined: 17 Feb 2000
Posts: 457
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2001 12:33 am     Reply with quote
What do you mean by "larger brush sizes"? ...30-40 or 200pixels?
What tools are you using... oils?
And what resolution do you work with?

more RAM wouldn't help unless you are working at very high resolutions.

Ko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
quaternius
member


Member #
Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 220
Location: Albany, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2001 8:49 am     Reply with quote
Ko -
I think maybe you're onto something there with the graphics card. I've got 3dlabs oxygen VX1 cards in a similarly powered PIII with 512 megs of ram and I don't seem to be experiencing the lag problems everyone is taking about. Even at larger brush sizes the lag is only a little, and I'm generally over 3000 pixels with images. But then I tend to stay away from the complex brushes too. I usually keep my brushes simple and fast - have made a number of brush variants to help keep things fast also.

More food for thought.

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tripclaw
junior member


Member #
Joined: 10 Jan 2001
Posts: 38
Location: Miaim, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2001 11:00 am     Reply with quote
I have a GeForce2 MX 32mb card... hmm wonder if thats the problem then. It's AGP 2X (had to limit it to 2X do to bugs in my asus mainboard).

Anyone have a libary of brushes they're willing to share with me ? I haven't quite figured all the brush settings out, using the defaults.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Freddio
Administrator


Member #
Joined: 29 Dec 1999
Posts: 2074
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2001 5:26 am     Reply with quote
the mx is only 2x anyway
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Guy
member


Member #
Joined: 29 Feb 2000
Posts: 602
Location: British Columbia, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2001 9:30 am     Reply with quote
i have an athlon 700 with 128 ram and a tnt 2 pro and painter 6 runs smooth.. smoother then PS6. do you have a lot of things running in the back ground or in your taskbar?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
quaternius
member


Member #
Joined: 20 Nov 2000
Posts: 220
Location: Albany, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2001 9:53 am     Reply with quote
geez - someone could write a whole book on painter brushes. I took one whole saturday and did nothing but change brush settings 'till I could figure out what the heck was going on. So where do I start? I'll take a quick stab it it, bear with me...

Flat Dab type/Single stroke type brushes are fast-painting brushes. Just as an example, Open your brush control panel general tab, choose the Opaque Flat brush and see what happens. Start changing the size of the brush 'till the lag is unacceptable - for me that's about at size 75. Now try changing the Dab type to circular - it should be faster, I don't get appreciable lag 'til I'm over size 550. (Don't forget to reset your default variant before changing this brush to a pencil, or something else.)Okay, here's a watercolor variant I use a lot - on my machine I don't get bothersome lag 'til I'm over size 135: Dab type/circular, stroke/single, method/wet, subcatagory/grainy wet abrasive, opacity 29%, grain 24% (the lower the grain value the more grainy you get),size 60, min.size 24%, size step 5%, Expression Tab - size/pressure, jitter/none, opacity/pressure, grain/pressure, color/none, angle/none, resat/pressure, bleed/pressure - check invert box on bleed. On the WELL Tab - resat 25%, bleed 60%,dryout to max. On Water Tab set your diffusion and wet fringe as you like, mine's set for 0 diffusion and 22% wet fringe. On your brushes window click on the variant pull-down and save your new variant with a new name - don't forget to reset your original default variant. I might've change some other setting I've overlooked, but you can experiment with other settings yourself.

I strongly recommend getting the Painter 6 WOW book - there's a whole chapter on brushes in there. Watercolor brushes can be a bit more complicated because they use the special watercolor "layer" - that's one reason why Jason Manley (to name just one person), starts with a smaller image and just blocks out general shapes with watercolor, before he resizes the image to keep working on it.

A couple of the best links for Painter stuff are these: http://users.sinewave.com/sherdyl/credits/paintlnk.htm
http://home.earthlink.net/~athene/painter/

On the video card issue, the GeForce should be fine, hmmm... check your RAMDAC speed specs though - the GeForce should be over 300MHz I think, which should be fine. The only thing I can think of is the GeForce is intended primarily as a 3D gaming card - while my 3DLabs cards are not so specifically oriented. There may be something else going on. For other reasons, it could never hurt to bump your RAM to 256 Megs - and who knows, it might help Painter run faster for some unknown reason.

Sheesh, I should be workin' - I got bunches of stuff to get done today.
Good Luck and Happy Painting.

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sijun Forums Forum Index -> Digital Art Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2005 phpBB Group