Sijun Forums Forum Index
Log in to check your private messages
My Profile Search Who's Online Member List FAQ Register Login Sijun Forums Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
   Sijun Forums Forum Index >> Random Musings
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author   Topic : "Wacom repair? Grrrrr!!!"
Funfetus
member


Member #
Joined: 26 Oct 1999
Posts: 343
Location: West Covina, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 2:38 am     Reply with quote
My tablet (intuos 6x8) seems to have just gone kaput due to a split power cord. What a piddly-ass way for it to go out. I've just e-mailed Wacom about it, and I hope I can get it repaired promptly...

Anyway, my question: Any of you guys dealt with Wacom on repair/warranty issues? I hope this isn't going to take too long. I feel like a cripple aleady.


------------------
Funfetus
iCE VGA Division
http://www.funhousedigital.com


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Affected
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Oct 1999
Posts: 1854
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 2:48 am     Reply with quote
I don't suppose you know where exactly the cord is split? (If you do, I have only two wordss of advice to give you: duct tape.)

------------------
Affected
http://affected.cjb.net


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Funfetus
member


Member #
Joined: 26 Oct 1999
Posts: 343
Location: West Covina, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 3:11 am     Reply with quote
Been doing the electical tape thing for a couple months. It's just gone now, though. Not matter how I try to position it or hold it, it's just not making a connection.

------------------
Funfetus
iCE VGA Division
http://www.funhousedigital.com


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Shrimpish
Guest


Member #



PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 3:34 am     Reply with quote
Hey, Fetus, if it's just the power cord, I wouldn't bother with the warranty crap, since the cost of it is 6.99 and they're probably gonna try to charge you for the shipping (the "limited" in "3-Year Limited Warranty"). =)

Just cut the cord where it's got the split, strip the plastic about an inch off both sides, and tie it back together, and tape it up. The cord is made of 2 thinner cords; make sure they don't touch each other. That's what caused the short in the first place.

Or you could just do this until they send you the new adapter.
Back to top
B
member


Member #
Joined: 12 Jan 2000
Posts: 322
Location: Houston, Tx, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 6:09 am     Reply with quote
yea,i had the same problem with mine,. fortunatly i'm a pretty good electrician, i got a lower guage wire, and rewired the thing so it wouldn't happen again, and it hasn't . but then again i just got a new one about a month ago, so i'm not sure if it'll happen since i don't really use it anymore,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
[Shizo]
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Oct 1999
Posts: 3888

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 7:59 am     Reply with quote
I keep my tablet with power cord plugge din all the time.. At first i was kinda worried doing that because my tab feels a bit WARM, is it too bad to have it on all the time?

------------------
Russia is power. You dont agree --> we nuke you!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Funfetus
member


Member #
Joined: 26 Oct 1999
Posts: 343
Location: West Covina, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 11:34 am     Reply with quote
I don't think I explained it well enough... It's not really the power cord, it's the parallel cord, I guess. I can't strip it an inch in both directions, either, because the break is right at the base...

Here's a picture of it: http://funhousedigital.com/temp/brokentablet.jpg

Thanks for the suggestions, everyone.

------------------
Funfetus
iCE VGA Division
http://www.funhousedigital.com


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
B
member


Member #
Joined: 12 Jan 2000
Posts: 322
Location: Houston, Tx, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 11:47 am     Reply with quote
that's the same place mine broke,..you might be able to get just the chord from wacom, ..
on the inside of the tablet the chord just has a connector that plugs into the actual board,. there should be about an inch of wire,. should be enough to splice,.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
imdaking
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Oct 1999
Posts: 321
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 1:53 pm     Reply with quote
hey shizo.... i leave mine on all the time too... along with my CPU... dunno if it does damadge though only time i turn my cpu off is when i can't sleep and when i go on vacation... =)

latez
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
HumanClay
Guest


Member #



PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 2:11 pm     Reply with quote
Weird. I just posed almost all the same questions as you in a post about 3 days ago Funfetus.

My tablet also went kaput. I had NO power, and I tried everything. I ended up having to phone Wacom Tech Support, and they gave me an "RMA", then I had to ship my tablet back to them via Purolator (a cool $80 :P), and they will ship it back to me using the same method (so it sorta evens out), within 48 hours max.

I hate it when shit like this happens, I need my tablet -- I AM NOTHING WITHOUT IT!*#*( heh.
Back to top
Funfetus
member


Member #
Joined: 26 Oct 1999
Posts: 343
Location: West Covina, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 5:13 pm     Reply with quote
Ack! $80! I can't afford that right now.

What's Purolator?

------------------
Funfetus
iCE VGA Division
http://www.funhousedigital.com


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
HumanClay
Guest


Member #



PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 1999 9:00 pm     Reply with quote
Purolator is a courier service like UPS or Fedex, only I guess it's only Canadian-based ( I was under the impression that it ships FROM the USA as well as to it).

So yea, it was $80 Canadian, which comes out to be like $2.24 American :P The nuts from my shit are worth more than the Canadian dollar.

HumanClay
Back to top
[Shizo]
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Oct 1999
Posts: 3888

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 1999 8:23 am     Reply with quote
eh?! Cant be! 250 canadian is roughly 200 american, so how the hell can it be 80 canadian = 2 american! baaaaaahhhhh...

------------------
Russia is power. You dont agree --> we nuke you!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
B
member


Member #
Joined: 12 Jan 2000
Posts: 322
Location: Houston, Tx, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 1999 9:45 am     Reply with quote
80.00 CAD Canada Dollars = 54.3779 USD United States Dollars

250.00 CAD Canada Dollars = 169.947 USD United States Dollars

subject to change daily

~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sijun Forums Forum Index -> Random Musings All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2005 phpBB Group