Sijun Forums Forum Index
Log in to check your private messages
My Profile Search Who's Online Member List FAQ Register Login Sijun Forums Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
   Sijun Forums Forum Index >> Random Musings
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author   Topic : "This thread has a virus..."
Tzan
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 702
Location: Boston MA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:56 am     Reply with quote
... solution!


I got some nasty Virtumonde and Vundo infections yesterday.
After 10 hours of poking around I finally fixed it. An IT guy I know wasn't able to fix his last year and had to reformat, that's how tough it is.

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/malware-removal/remove-vundo-virtumonde

If you want a free Malware checker get that. It solved the problem that 4 other programs couldn't. The scan with this program took 6 minutes.

The link has instructions and links for software to DL.
Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware - MBAM

If you have windows poping up for no reason with ads and your cpu is up around 50%, you have a problem.


There are ads at the top of the page, the real info starts after this line of text:

"Automated Removal Instructions for Trojan.vundo and Virtumonde using Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware:"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sometimes
member


Member #
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:29 pm     Reply with quote
Sounds naSty, what kind of protection center are you running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tzan
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 702
Location: Boston MA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:34 pm     Reply with quote
I am using Avast for anti virus. Which didnt catch this.
I also have a McAfee firewall, the machine came with McAfee installed and the firewall worked ok so I kept it.

To fix the current problem, I tried :

-Registry Mechanic
-Registry Booster
-Spybot Search and Destroy

But only Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware - MBAM
got the job done right.

Sounds like a commercial I suppose, but if you are pulling your hair out over a virus hopefully this will help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sometimes
member


Member #
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:08 pm     Reply with quote
thanks for info.

I myself use Norton Protection Center, worked fine so far. Even on the Porn sites I visit lol.
Intrusion prevention seems to be effective.
Some years ago I went with only freeware but this time I decided to pay for protection for my laptop, hopefully things will keep functioning.
Better to be informed though so advice like yours are appreciated.

see you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tzan
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 702
Location: Boston MA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:30 am     Reply with quote
This is a link to the actual product page.

http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

Hopefully not as confusing as the one I posted earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spyroteknik
member


Member #
Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 376
Location: north east uk

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:34 am     Reply with quote
I had the Vundo problem just before Christmas, nasty little thing, had my brother in law fix it for me remotely, although my system is stable again I still have a few problems (like task manager disabled etc) so might just give this a shot to see if it makes a difference
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Tzan
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 702
Location: Boston MA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 11:57 am     Reply with quote
Sounds like he fixed it with a sledge hammer.

Task Manager was the app eating 50% cpu because of the virus so maybe he killed it instead of removing the virus?

You should try it. If it removes stuff ask your friend to fix Task Manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sometimes
member


Member #
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:09 am     Reply with quote
quick question guys. Do you guys use Firefox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tzan
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 702
Location: Boston MA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:19 am     Reply with quote
Yes I use Firefox.
I forgot to mention one more thing.

I was advised to use the FF Add-on Extension "NoScript".

I updated FF to latest version and added NoScript.

Its a bit of a pain, it disallows all scripts on all sites.
So when you visit a site you trust you have to adjust a setting to allow the site, lots of options here.

I got the virus by just visiting a site. It asked to allow some things, I rejected them all. But I still got infected. So just visiting can be bad. NoScript will stop the drive by infecting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sijun Forums Forum Index -> Random Musings All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2005 phpBB Group