Sijun Forums Forum Index
Log in to check your private messages
My Profile Search Who's Online Member List FAQ Register Login Sijun Forums Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Goto page 1, 2  Next    Sijun Forums Forum Index >> Random Musings
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author   Topic : "OMGz Photoshop CS4 !"
Andromeda
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Jan 2000
Posts: 708
Location: Lower Ward, Sigil

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:55 pm     Reply with quote
First off .. the circle of people i know, non of them are digital painters.
so this news means nothing to them...

and i've nowhere to vent this geeky excitement.

hello =]

OMGZZZ CS4 HAS GRAPHICS CARD ACCELERATIONNN !!!!!!
LOOK AT MY IMAGE SLIDE ACROSS THE SCREEN !!!

IT SLIDDEEEESSSS !!!! AAAAARGHARGAH ...

GRAPHICS CARD ACCELERATION DAMMIITTT !!!
...

kay im done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Andromeda
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Jan 2000
Posts: 708
Location: Lower Ward, Sigil

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:58 pm     Reply with quote
..

ignore last rant.

damn its slow ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Affected
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Oct 1999
Posts: 1854
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:48 am     Reply with quote
Yea, I tried the demo at some point, at default settings the GL acceleration is way too slow to be useful. If you tweak the settings you can get it to the point where you can use it, and I guess the canvas rotation is nice, but it was still a tad laggy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nag
member


Member #
Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 287
Location: Iceland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:10 am     Reply with quote
I remember trying it out when it came out.

The zoom sampling is by far the best thing about it by far IMO. But itīs retarded that it took them this long, how hard can it be to sample the zoom levels correctly in a bloody image program? Painter and most other image programs have been doing this since medieval times. The tabs got more in my way than help and I didīnt find a way to turn them off, (it didīnt work in the preferences , this is something they might have fixed now)

After a few days I uninstalled it because it was running too slow for me. I think a large part of it was because Iīm running xp64 on my work machine and had to apply a few hacks in order to get the gpu acceleration to work. Iīve heard rumors that it runs faster then the previous version and I have yet to test it out on vista.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Andromeda
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Jan 2000
Posts: 708
Location: Lower Ward, Sigil

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:19 pm     Reply with quote
yeah, youre right ..

after the initial geek-citement, everything went downhill ...

it has a lot of wonderful features.. half of it i dont even understand .(but im sure its wonderful)

but the lag .... the lag was driving me insane.

i uninstalled it ... using CS3 again ..

...

Also, i just very recently got a copy of Painter-X ...
havent tried it yet...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Max Ostap
member


Member #
Joined: 25 Apr 2007
Posts: 70
Location: LA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:25 pm     Reply with quote
I don't know what kind of rig one needs to make this useful. I am running Dual Core 3.0ghz 8800 gts 4 gb of ram... its unusable. Will stick with cs3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
med
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 229
Location: LA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:12 am     Reply with quote
seems like most of my buddies around me are really enjoying CS4, but I agree with all here about the lag and such. The additions that I noticed seem kind of pointless. I've been sticking with CS3, over and out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Synnical
member


Member #
Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 177
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:59 pm     Reply with quote
Am i the only one here who's still using CS2? Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Tzan
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 704
Location: Boston MA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:12 pm     Reply with quote
Photoshop 6 Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
med
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 229
Location: LA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:31 pm     Reply with quote
haha wow, I don't think I've ever used 6...I started with 7 and worked my way to CS3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Synnical
member


Member #
Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 177
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:10 pm     Reply with quote
Tzan Smile
I was actually on 7 for a long time before finally getting CS2. Much like 7, it worked pretty well for me so I haven't had the incentive to upgrade yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
alyssa milano
member


Member #
Joined: 02 Aug 2008
Posts: 93
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:23 pm     Reply with quote
yeah CS2 Cool

(already slow with my brand new xps laptop, i`m not sure i`m going to upgrade to any other after reading you guys...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xbrianx
member


Member #
Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 134
Location: Savannah, GA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:52 am     Reply with quote
I use CS2 as well, which has been almost perfect for quite a few years... until now. Just recently, it decides to freeze up many times while I paint, even when I have 1GB RAM, 3Ghz duel processor, low history saves, no default brushes loading, and some filters set to not load. It's kind of weird. Rolling Eyes
_________________
DeviantART
Facebook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Nag
member


Member #
Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 287
Location: Iceland

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:17 am     Reply with quote
Iīve had a similar experience with ps xbrianx. The only solution I found was to reinstall it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
balistic
member


Member #
Joined: 01 Jun 2000
Posts: 2585
Location: Reno, NV, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:34 am     Reply with quote
Painter 11 and Sketchbook Pro 2010 have also been announced.

Can't afford to upgrade Painter right now as I just bought a new box, but I'll probably pick up SBP. The new ellipse/line rulers look AWESOME.
_________________
brian.prince|light.comp.paint
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Tzan
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 704
Location: Boston MA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:19 pm     Reply with quote
Hmm lets see

PS 6
Painter 8
Lightwave 9.6 which is actually the latest version.

AutoCad 14 I think thats from 1997. I work as an architectural designer at home so this is my main tool. It draws lines. It prints. I dont really see a need to upgrade this at all.

I would like to upgrade PS and Painter I was looking into it last month. But I think I need to buy the full version of PS since I didnt see an upgrade path from 6. Yesterday I was reading comments on Amazon about CS2, apparently you can buy CS2 then upgrade to CS3 for less than the the full price Smile These are luxury items for me though. Business is rough right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
henrik
member


Member #
Joined: 26 Oct 1999
Posts: 393
Location: London UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:52 am     Reply with quote
CS4 is the worst Photoshop version ever with it's slower than acceptable performance. I would use a piece of potato instead of CS4 any day. I'm still using CS and CS 2.
_________________
http://www.somniostudios.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
med
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 229
Location: LA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:02 am     Reply with quote
hahaha henrik..a piece of potato........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Cicinimo
member


Member #
Joined: 03 Mar 2001
Posts: 705
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:41 pm     Reply with quote
Yeah I regret buying it. It ran a bit smoother after I updated, but still worse than CS3.

Tabbing might be useful after I get used to it.

I see no use for image rotation, my arm changes angles well enough.

I have no idea why they made it so your canvas slides around after you release with the hand tool. Its like someone swapped out my desk for an air hockey table. Not cool.
_________________
artpad.org


Last edited by Cicinimo on Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Pringle
member


Member #
Joined: 05 May 2001
Posts: 376
Location: Ontario, Canada.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:28 pm     Reply with quote
Indeed, I bought CS4 for mac the other day. The canvas slide gimmick is really annoying and the whole application seems to run slower even with the extra 1.5 GB ram I installed as well. I want CS3 back Sad
_________________
http://pringleart.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sung-jae Kim
junior member


Member #
Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:08 am     Reply with quote
Cicinimo wrote:
Yeah I regret buying it. It ran a bit smoother after I updated, but still worse then CS3.

Tabbing might be useful after I get used to it.

I see no use for image rotation, my arm changes angles well enough.

I have no idea why they made it so your canvas slides around after you release with the hand tool. Its like someone swapped out my desk for an air hockey table. Not cool.


Hey Cicinimo, you can fix that by going to
edit > preference > general > uncheck "enable flick panning"
and if the zooming bothers you by any chance, you can uncheck "animated zoom"


CS4 is still pretty bad though IMO, its been very jumpy on my computer lately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
med
member


Member #
Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 229
Location: LA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:58 am     Reply with quote
Sunshine! Laughing Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
B0b
member


Member #
Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 1807
Location: Sunny Dorset, England

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:20 am     Reply with quote
CS4 requires 8xxx series of GeForce or more to work effectively, i put of upgrading to it until i'd got myself an 8600GT.. i don't find any trouble scrolling or zooming on a 4.4GB pano..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Bg
member


Member #
Joined: 20 Jan 2000
Posts: 675
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:03 pm     Reply with quote
I had a nightmare where I was painting with a piece of potato thanks to this thread! Very Happy I think I'll wait for the next one.. it took me a while to switch from Photoshop 5.5 a few years back
_________________
www.TimoVihola.com
www.MountainSheep.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
henrik
member


Member #
Joined: 26 Oct 1999
Posts: 393
Location: London UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:46 am     Reply with quote
I hope Adobe starts selling potato bundles. That'd be an upgrade from CS4.
_________________
http://www.somniostudios.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
burn0ut
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Apr 2000
Posts: 1645
Location: california

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:40 pm     Reply with quote
you guys are looking past the best feature!

brush tool, hold alt + right mouse and move your mouse left/right/
also try alt+shift+right mouse and move left right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Andromeda
member


Member #
Joined: 18 Jan 2000
Posts: 708
Location: Lower Ward, Sigil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:34 pm     Reply with quote
Henrik : Hhahahahahha man, thats mean ! hahahhaha

Burnout: i aready uninstalled CS4, what does that do ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
B0b
member


Member #
Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 1807
Location: Sunny Dorset, England

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:31 am     Reply with quote
adjusts brush size and hardness
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
M@.
member


Member #
Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:12 pm     Reply with quote
yeah I bought CS4 for my brand new computer (which is pretty pimp performance wise), and it runs so bad. I'm really disappointed. And for some reason, pen pressure doesn't work in 64-bit. And it crashed 4 times the first hour after I installed it. The whole graphics card thing is slow and weird (I totally agree Jaime, what's up with that inertia panning thing? it's so annoying), and I have a GTX280.

so I went back to CS2, which runs perfectly fine.
_________________
http://mv.cgcommunity.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Petri.J
member


Member #
Joined: 04 Dec 2003
Posts: 437
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:34 am     Reply with quote
M@. wrote:
yeah I bought CS4 for my brand new computer (which is pretty pimp performance wise), and it runs so bad. I'm really disappointed. And for some reason, pen pressure doesn't work in 64-bit. And it crashed 4 times the first hour after I installed it. The whole graphics card thing is slow and weird (I totally agree Jaime, what's up with that inertia panning thing? it's so annoying), and I have a GTX280.

so I went back to CS2, which runs perfectly fine.


Well if it's graphics card "accelerated" it doesnīt mean that it has a better performance since it has to take a detour in the graphics chip.. Very Happy
Anyway the whole idea of using the graphics card in Photoshop's primary functions is veeery scary shit (if it really does work like that), since graphics acceleration is so dependent on driver's functionality and not the actual hardware. That's why 3D applications render everything with CPU and not on GPU.
I think this GPU acceleration in photoshop is just a brain fart, and they will come to their senses soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sijun Forums Forum Index -> Random Musings All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2005 phpBB Group